Comprehensive List of NPP MPs: Winners and Losers in the 2024 Parliamentary Primaries

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
The parliamentary primaries for the New Patriotic Party (NPP), which took place on Saturday, January 27, 2024, came to a surprising conclusion.

Certain contenders unexpectedly lost their seats, while others unexpectedly defeated the incumbent, according to the results of the highly anticipated polls.

Freda Prempeh, the Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources, was unexpectedly kicked out of her position in the Tano North constituency. Rival Dr. Gideon Boako, the Vice President’s spokesperson and flagbearer of the NPP, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, easily won with 444 votes against Prempeh’s 221.

Also Read: NPP Primaries: Obour, for the 2nd Time, ‘Woefully’ Loses Asante Akyem South Constituency Ticket

Likewise, in Dome-Kwabenya, vocal Minister of Gender, Children, and Social Protection Adwoa Safo suffered a surprise defeat. With 1194 votes, Mike Ocquaye Jr.—the son of former Speaker Mike Ocquaye—secured a resounding victory, leaving Safo with just 328.

A new leader was elected in the Abuakwa North constituency after Nana Ampaw Addo-Frempong defeated incumbent Gifty Twum-Ampofo by a slim margin. Nicknamed “Buffalo,” Addo-Frempong received 222 votes to Twum-Ampofo’s 202.

In addition to these major upheavals, Tina Gifty Mensah, the deputy minister of health, was another well-known victim. Jerry Ahmed Shab beat her in the Weija Gbawe constituency, garnering 786 votes to Mensah’s 361 votes.

These shocking losses rocked the NPP and prompted concerns about the mood of voters and the makeup of the party going forward.

Financial analyst Isaac Nyarko Boamah defeated Minister of Public Enterprises Joseph Cudjoe in the Effia primary in the Western Region.

PAY ATTENTION: Stay updated with TED NEWS GHANA’s WhatsApp channel for daily breaking news on the go!

With 637 votes, Sheila Bartels was defeated by Akua Afriyie, who received 756 votes, in the Ablekuma North poll.

Below is the full list of all incumbent NPP MPs who participated in Saturday’s primaries


Asunafo North: Evans Bobie Opoku – Retained

Tano North: Freda Prempeh – Lost

Asutifi North: Patrick Banor – Retained


Adansi Asokwa: KT Hammond – Retained

Afigya Kwabre North: Collins Adomako Mensah-Retained

Afigya Sekyere East: Mavis Nkansah-Boadu – RetainedAsante Akim Central: Kwame Ayimadu-Antwi – Retained

Asante Akim North: Andy Kwame Appiah-Kubi – Retained

Asante Akim South: Kwaku Asante-Boateng – Retained

Asokwa: Patricia Appiagyei – Retained

Atwima Kwanwoma: Kofi Amankwa-Manu – Retained

Atwima Mponua: Isaac Kwame Asiamah – Lost

Atwima Nwabiagya South: Emmanuel Agyei Anhwere – Lost

Bantama: Francis Asenso-Boakye – Retained

Bosome Freho: Akwasi Darko Boateng – Lost

Juaben: Ama Pomaa Boateng – Lost

Kwadaso: Kingsley Nvarko – Retained

Mampong: Kwaku Ampratwum-Sarpong – INJUNCTED

Manhyia North: Akwasi Konadu – Retained

Manhyia South: Matthew Opoku Prempeh – Retained

Nyiaeso – Dr. Stephen Amoah – Retained

Manso Adubia: Yaw Frimpong Addo – Retained

Manso Nkwanta: George Kwabena Obeng Takyi – Lost

Nsuta Kwamang Beposo: Adelaide Ntim – Retained

Obuasi East: Patrick Boakye-Yiadom – Retained

Obuasi West: Kwaku Agyemang Kwarteng – INJUNCTED

Odotobri: Emmanuel Akwasi Gyamfi – Lost

Offinso North: Ntim Augustine Collins – Lost

Old Tafo: Vicent Ekow Assafuah – Retained

Subin: Eugene Boakye Antwi – Lost


Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfrom: Sylvester M. Tetteh – Retained

Dome Kwabenya: Sarah Adwoa Safo – Lost

Ablekuma North: Sheila Bartels – Lost

Ayawaso Central: Henry Quartey – Retained

Anyaa Sowutuom: Dickson Adomako Kissi – Rejected

Ablekuma West: Ursula Owusu-Ekuful – Retained

Amasaman: Akwasi Owusu Afrifa-Mensah – Lost

Tema Central: Yves Hanson-Nortey – Lost

Weija Gbawe: Tina Gifty Naa Ayeley Mensah – Lost

Trobu: Moses Anim – Lost


Mfantseman: Ophelia Mensah – Retained

Hemang Lower Denkyira: Bright Wireko-Brobby – Lost

Abura Asebu Kwamankese: Elvis Morris Donkoh – Lost

Gomoa Central: Naana Eyiah – Retained

Awutu Senya East: Mavis Hawa Koomson – Retained

Agona West: Cynthia Mamle Morrison – SUSPENDED


Berekum West: Kwaku Agyenim Boateng – Retained

Dormaa Central: Kwaku Agyeman Manu – Retained

Berekum East: Nelson Kyeremeh – Retained

Sunyani West: Ignatius Baffour Awuah – Retained


Tarkwa-Nsuaem: George Mireku Duker – Retained

Kwesimintsim: Prince Hamid Armah – Retained

Sekondi: Andrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer – Retained

Efia: Joseph Cudjoe – Lost

Shama: Samuel Erickson Abakah – Lost

Mpohor: John Kobin Abbam Aboah Sanie – Retained

Takoradi: Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah – Retained


Nsawam/Adoagyiri: Frank Annoh-Dompreh – Retained

Abirem: Osei John Frimpong – Lost

Abuakwa North: Gifty Twum-Ampofo – Lost

Ofoase/Ayirebi: Kojo Oppong Nkrumah

Kade: Agyare Alexander

Lower West Akim: Charles Acheampong – Retained

Asene Akroso Manso: George Kwame Aboagye

Nkawkaw: Joseph Frempong

Atiwa East: Abena Osei-Asare – Retained

Mpraeso: Davis Ansah Opoku

Akim Swedru: Kennedy Osei Nyarko

Suhum: Kwadjo Asante – Lost

New Juaben South: Michael Okyere Baafi

Fanteakwa South: Kofi Okyere-Agyekum – Lost

Fanteakwa North: Kwabena Amankwa Asiamah – Lost


Pru West: Jalulah PambiinStephen


Walewale: Lariba Zuwera Abudu


Zabzugu: Jabaah John Bennam – Lost

Nanton: Mohammed Hardi Tufeiru – Retained

Yendi: Umar Farouk Aliu Mahama

Mion: Musah Abdul-Aziz Ayaba


Daboya-Mankarigu: Mahama Asei Seini –

Salaga North: Alhassan Abdallah Iddi –


Sissala East: Amidu Chinnia Issahaku – Retained


Bibiani-Anhwiaso Bekwai: Alfred Obeng-Boateng

Sefwi Akontombra: Djornobuah Alex Tetteh

Leave a Comment

Bend The Trend Boutique
For all your Unisex clothes, footwears, bags, accessories and hair extensions; Contact Bend The Trend Boutique on 0508937174

Copyright ©2024 Ted News Ghana. All rights reserved.